Saturday, January 16, 2010

Finalists for The Story Prize Announced

Finalists for the The Story Prize have officially been released.   They include the work of three debut writers:

In Other Rooms, Other Wonders by Daniyal Mueenuddin (W. W. Norton)

Drift by Victoria Patterson (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)

Everything Ravaged, Everything Burned by Wells Tower (Farrar, Straus, and Giroux)

The awards will be presented at 7:30 p.m. on Wednesday, March 3rd at The New School in New York City (66 West 12th Street). That night, Daniyal Mueenuddin, Victoria Patterson, and Wells Tower will read from their short story collections and discuss their work onstage with the director of the prize, Larry Dark. At the end of the evening, the winner will be announced and receive a $20,000 prize.  Each runner-up will receive $5000.

The three finalists were selected from a total of 78 short story collections published in 2009.  Link to THE STORY PRIZE BLOG to learn more.